All creatures great and small book series

7.44  ·  6,137 ratings  ·  872 reviews
all creatures great and small book series

All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot

All Creatures Great and Small Series. The original… More. Book 1. When the newly qualified vet, James Herriot, arri… More. Want to Read. Shelving menu.
File Name: all creatures great and small book
Size: 92435 Kb
Published 23.12.2018

All Creatures Great & Small s01e09 The Last Furlong

James Herriot

Fresh out of Glasgow Veterinary College, to the young James Herriot s Yorkshire seems to offer an idyllic pocket of rural life in a rapidly changing world. But from his erratic new colleagues, brothers Siegfried and Tristan Farnon, to incomprehensible farmers, herds of semi-feral cattle, a pig called Nugent and an overweight Pekingese called Tricki Woo, James finds he is on a learning curve as steep as the hills around him. See more book details 17 January Bulls with sunstroke, pigs on the run and a cake-eating Peke with a betting habit. I grew up reading James Herriot's book and I'm delighted that thirty years on they are still every bit as charming, heartwarming and laugh-out-loud funny as they were then. Kate Humble The attraction of Herriot's ever popular memoirs of a country vet. And, of course, there's a powerful nostalgia element in these stories about our green and pleasant land in the day before the ravages of ribbon development.

Books in this Series

Tales from James Herriot's book about life as a Yorkshire vet makes for wonderful reading as the TV show makes a comeback., James Herriot was born James Alfred Wight on February ; a British veterinary surgeon whose numerous years in his field prepared him for a writing career during which he told many a story about animals and their owners, James Herriot died in While James took work as a ship plater, he also indulged his passion of the piano, his wife earning a small income as a dress maker, on top of her singing.

Your email address will not be published. Set in the fictional Yorkshire Dales town of Darrowby, the series offers comforting reflections of a much gentler time when life moved at a somewhat slower pace. He is assigned to the practice of Siegfried Farnon, who together with his mischievous brother Tristan already have a successful business. James undergoes a variety of adventures during his work, which are just as often caused by the characters of the county including the Farnon brothers as the animals in his care. The period is now the early Fifties, but the Dales are slow to embrace the world of tomorrow.


  1. Educated G. says:

    Ready for your next read?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *