The lion the witch and the wardrobe book short summary

9.61  ·  5,168 ratings  ·  753 reviews
the lion the witch and the wardrobe book short summary

SparkNotes: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe: Plot Overview

Four children named Peter , Susan , Edmund , and Lucy go to the country to live in the large, mysterious house of an old Professor during the London air raids. One rainy day, the children take the opportunity to explore the house, peeking into spare bedrooms and old passageways, until Lucy, the youngest, pauses to look into a large wardrobe sitting in an empty room. She crawls past the long fur coats and finds herself standing in the middle of a forest. It is night, and snow is falling, though in London it is summer. She walks toward an iron lamp-post and, thinking it is strange to come to a lamp-post in the middle of a wood, is met by a very surprised faun. This faun, confirming that Lucy is a human girl, or a "Daughter of Eve", invites her for tea, snacks, stories, and music in his cozy little cave. She trusts the faun and follows him, staying with him for what seems like many hours.
File Name: the lion the witch and the wardrobe book short
Size: 21679 Kb
Published 16.12.2018

BBC's "The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe" 1988 HD

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is a fantasy novel for children by C. Lewis , published by Geoffrey Bles in

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Summary

Lewis, written in The novel is a part of a chronicle containing 7 novels and even though it was the first one published, the author recommendation is to read it as the second one. The plot begins in the World War II and it continues to the unknown time in the magical world of Narnia, named by the Italian city Narni. The lion Aslan rules Narnia. He is a completely personified animal with human and heroic characteristics. Besides that Aslan has the characteristics of Jesus that was referred to as the Lion in the Holy Bible.

Sign in. Four kids travel through a wardrobe to the land of Narnia and learn of their destiny to free it with the guidance of a mystical lion. Four children from the same family have to leave their town because of the bombings of WWII. A women and a professor take the children to their house. While playing a game of hide-and-seek, the youngest member of the family, Lucy, finds a wardrobe to hide in. She travels back and back into the wardrobe and finds a place named Narnia. After going in twice, the four children go in together for the last time.

Meet Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy, four siblings in World War II-era England who have been sent away to the countryside in order to avoid getting blown to smithereens during an air raid. It's a sensible solution to an awful problem They're bored to tears. Lucy discovers that a certain wardrobe is a gateway to a magical land called Narnia. Yep, that'll ease the boredom a bit. In Narnia, Lucy meets and becomes friends with a Faun named Mr. Tumnus, who tells her that Narnia is ruled by an evil White Witch who oppresses the people and magically creates an everlasting winter.

Reader Interactions

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus. In the darkness of the old country house where they are sent, the children stumble through an old wardrobe to the land of Narnia, where animals talk and magic exists. This is the first story of Narnia written by C. Lewis and it tells the story of how these four children with the help of Aslan, the Great Lion, help defeat the White Witch who holds Narnia. The first of the children to make their way into Narnia is Lucy, the youngest. There she meets Mr.


  1. Eopoldina L. says:

    Donnie brasco my undercover life in the mafia pdf best books to learn ui ux design

  2. Hdfunny says:

    Taking refuge with the middle-aged and unnamed Professor in his big, rambling house in the country, they are initially excited by the opportunities for fun and play they discover.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *