Order of the lion the witch and the wardrobe books

7.71  ·  7,986 ratings  ·  473 reviews
order of the lion the witch and the wardrobe books

Chronicles of Narnia Reading Order: Where to start the C.S. Lewis series?

Why are there multiple orders? Answers below…. Sometime after the death of C. Lewis, British editions of the books began appearing that were numbered according to the order the stories take place:. For many years, both orders were in print. American editions used publication order while British editions were numbered chronologically.
File Name: order of the lion the witch and the wardrobe books.zip
Size: 49090 Kb
Published 18.12.2018

The Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe BBC

Is The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe or The Magician's Nephew the first book in The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis? Why are there multiple orders?.

In What Order Should the Narnia Books Be Read?

In an American boy wrote C. Lewis to ask about the best order for reading The Chronicles of Narnia. The boy's mother believed the books should be read in order of their publication, beginning with The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. But the boy thought it would be better to read them in order of Narnian history, beginning with the creation of the enchanted world in The Magician's Nephew. Lewis wrote back to the boy, saying, "I think I agree with your order for reading the books more than with your mother's," and soon afterward the publishers began to number them in this way.

Jan 26, AM. No, the Magicians Nephew is the prelude. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe was the first one written and published. Lewis wrote The Magician's Nephew later. I'd read LWW first. I read 'the Magician's Nephew' first, and I've never been sorry I did so. It gives you a little more info on Aslan, Narnia etc, and I would recommend doing it like that.

An alternative reading order based solely on the internal chronology of the novels with the exception of The Horse and His Boy which takes place during the time frame of the final few pages of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. Note that this reading order only dates from , more than 30 years after C. Lewis died. See the preferred read… More. Book 1. The Magician's Nephew by C. The secret passage to the house next door leads t… More.


One of the great schisms of our time goes hardly noticed by the press. Lewis fanatics like me. And we find it very important—so much so that a number of Lewis scholars have responded to the issue in print, making my offering just one more addition to the mix. Is this a strange quirk in Narnian numerology—part of its deep magic? Or could it be a dark conspiracy to ruin the books—part of the machinations of Screwtape? Some Background C. Lewis wrote the Narnia books over a period of four to five years, starting with The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe.

The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven fantasy novels by C. Written by Lewis, illustrated by Pauline Baynes , and originally published in London between and , The Chronicles of Narnia has been adapted for radio, television, the stage, and film. The series is set in the fictional realm of Narnia , a fantasy world of magic, mythical beasts, and talking animals. It narrates the adventures of various children who play central roles in the unfolding history of the Narnian world. Except in The Horse and His Boy , the protagonists are all children from the real world who are magically transported to Narnia, where they are sometimes called upon by the lion Aslan to protect Narnia from evil. The books span the entire history of Narnia, from its creation in The Magician's Nephew to its eventual destruction in The Last Battle.

By Fabien. On February 13, In Reading Guide. Long before the Harry Potter series became the books children read, there were The Chronicles of Narnia. Seriously, these stories are still really influential and there were not even published in a chronological order.


  1. Salomé P. says:

    There’s only one right order to read the Narnia books - Decent Films

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *